Support Center

"Why does Mailtrack need permission to access my Google accounts?"

Last Updated: Mar 23, 2017 04:58PM CET
MailTrack needs access to your Google account for our various features and integration to work. This is why normally when you install our browser extension you receive a request asking you for permission to allow it to be able to do a number of things with your mail account.

But what are these permissions, and what do they mean? Well, they essentially boil down to the following:
 
"Read" permissions - which allow MailTrack to correctly identify individual emails for successful email tracking, and in the case of "Read your browsing history", let MailTrack open your dashboard, the FAQs page etc in a new browser tab when you click on their icons in the MailTrack console in Gmail, for example.
 
"Write"/"Delete" permissions - which permit MailTrack to correctly send notifications, and to delete the tracking pixel that is embedded in sent emails so as to avoid auto-opens.  
 

In any case don’t worry, at MailTrack we do not access your messages’ content – and therefore, as our Terms & Conditions makes clear, we do not share it with anyone. MailTrack only checks for the sender and recipient addresses used with the message, any links that have been added to your message and the subject of your email, as this is only information that we need in order to track and properly classify the emails you send using our app.

This is partly due to technological limitations but mainly to do with the moral obligation we have towards our customers to respect their privacy.
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete